Skip to content

my first photo challenge!

March 19, 2011

This is my very first Photo Challenge! Wheeeee!

I had a lot of fun with this. I love how creative it allowed me to be!

At first I thought the items for the hunt this week were kind of dull, but I was most definitely wrong!

First item to be found, Camera Phone.

This is my phone. It is a camera phone, but it’s pretty pointless because I can’t get the photos off the phone and onto the computer. I love the noise and graininess (weird word), it adds a nice touch. I am actually very happy with how this photo turned out.

Next up, Camera.

A Polaroid!! AAAHHHH! A sweet old man gave it to me. His wife just passed away and he said he wouldn’t get any more use out of it. It’s a Spirit 600 and it’s the coolest little thing ever.

The only problem is: they don’t make the film for this camera anymore so the film you can find online is super expensive because it’s specially made.

Polaroids are tricky. It’s easy to mess up the photos, especially for a newbie like me. So a pack of expensive (practice) film would be more money down the drain. I will fork out the money for the film one of these days, though!

A fun one, Shoes!

For this photo, I lined up all my favorite shoes against my wall. If you couldn’t tell, I kind of love flats. Especially those yellow ones, they’re getting so dirty though! Ugh.

Next order of business, Chair.

I kind of got a little creative with this one. It does involve a chair. I was sitting on a chair, eating breakfast. And Chipper came, got up on his little back legs and started pawing at me because he was hungry. Oh and there’s a chair in the background, so it is a chair picture! Okay, so I just love this photo. So cute.

And last but not least, Imperfection.

What better way to represent imperfection than with a photo of myself? I don’t mean that in a way that I think I’m a ugly and horrible person. I mean that in a way that it’s so easy for me to look at myself and only see the imperfections. Or to look at others and only see the imperfections. It’s more important to try and see myself and others the way God sees us and the way I should see us all the time.

Does it really matter how big my thighs are? Does that one mole on my neck really make a difference? Is the shape of my nose really worth worrying about? No, no and no.

Every time I say or think something negative about myself, it’s important to remember that nobody is perfect and we are all trying to be the best we can. And we can’t really change our outward appearance, only our inner. And that’s all God sees anyway and that’s all that really matters in the end.

***

Again, I had so much fun doing Scavenger Hunt Sunday and can’t wait for next week!!

Which one is your favorite? Mine is the shot of the Polaroid Camera, it’s very vivid!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2011 1:47 pm

    I’m so glad you’ve jumped in – just be sure you link up in the morning….I love your Polaroid! That’s awesome.

  2. March 20, 2011 1:44 am

    I love the doggie haircut!

  3. Kindred Spirit permalink
    March 21, 2011 12:01 am

    Love your shots! Especially your shoes & camera 🙂

  4. March 21, 2011 12:24 am

    Love your camera shot! and your doggy is very cute!

  5. March 21, 2011 12:30 am

    great job! I’m a newby to the challenge thing to, isn’t it FUN!!

  6. March 21, 2011 1:10 am

    Very cool shoe shot! 🙂

  7. March 21, 2011 1:24 pm

    I love all of your shots Kayla! That polaroid you scored is a gem!

  8. March 25, 2011 12:23 am

    Great shots! I absolutely LOVE the shoe shot! The editing is perfect!

    I’m hosting a new linkie over at my blog called Fabulous Friday. I’d love it if you could participate! The link is:
    http://mcdougallphotography.blogspot.com/2011/03/fabulous-friday-linkie-party.html

    Thanks!

  9. May 6, 2011 11:07 pm

    fun blog! i found you through BBL 🙂
    i set my email address as a contact in my phone so i can text my pictures to my email and save them to my computer that way!

Leave a Reply

