Skip to content

i like it green!

March 20, 2011

Today I’m linking up over at Simplicity! I’m really enjoying these photo challenges!

Here’s the theme today, Beverage.

Yes, that’s a beverage you’re looking at!  In fact, it’s what I like to call a Green Monster, made with spinach and banana. Don’t be fooled, these are super tasty, I’m addicted to them! The banana masks the spinach, I promise you can’t taste it (that would be gross!).

I drink one everyday and they are the perfect breakfast. Please go make one, I promise you will love it and become addicted to this healthy, delicious shake!

Classic Green Monster

1 large handful of spinach

1/2 banana, frozen (slice first, then freeze in a plastic bag until solid)

1 cup milk

1 scoop chocolate protein powder or 1 TBSP cocoa powder

5 ice cubes

Add ingredients to a powerful blender in order listed! Blend until smooth and enjoy!

There are many ways to make a Green Monster, but that is one of the best! Sometimes I add nut butter and sub other frozen fruits, but I always add spinach!

*These photos were both SOOC (straight out of camera), I thought editing would just ruin them!*

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 2:41 am

    Cool shots!

  2. March 20, 2011 2:46 am

    Yum. That looks and sounds great. We make a green smoothie every morning. We use coconut milk for ours.

  3. March 20, 2011 5:20 am

    I almost posted one of my green drinks, for my ‘beverage’ photo, too! Now I must say, this looks and sounds very good! It’s great to see others who are eating/drinking healthy! Sometimes I feel alone in my endeavor! lol! Thanks for sharing this recipe, too … can’t wait to try it! Have a great weekend! 🙂

  4. March 20, 2011 12:36 pm

    Very cool beverage shot. Green Monster….that would sell well in Boston for all the Red Sox fans. I eat spinach with my eggs everymorning, but I’d be willing to try one of these sometime. Thanks for including the recipe. Home school-yay. My best friend HS her son-he’s about to go on to college.

  5. March 20, 2011 6:44 pm

    Wow, this actually look really good..!! I’m a HUGE fan of spinach. There’s no doubt about it that I’m going to try this!! Thanks SO much..!

  6. March 20, 2011 10:06 pm

    HMMM.. looks… interesting…. 😉 Lol

    • March 20, 2011 9:07 pm

      Haha, you should try it! It’s delicious, I promise!

  7. March 20, 2011 10:08 pm

    OH, and i saw in your about me page that your a Floridian too! Very neat! Its always nice to find other FL bloggers 😉

  8. March 21, 2011 12:21 am

    Love the green drink with the orange mug…just perfect!

  9. March 20, 2011 9:17 pm

    Hey Kayla! Thanks for stopping by MY blog… 😉 I am always kinda scared by green smoothies, but i might just have to try this sometime. 😉

  10. March 21, 2011 11:05 pm

    I really like green smoothies too – in fact I might make one tomorrow morning!! That is sounding really good right now… I should go put a banana in the freezer.
    Thanks so much for linking up! Love your photo – the color of the mug really makes the smoothie pop!

Leave a Reply

