Skip to content

Gladness

April 27, 2011
tags: , , , ,

Spring Break 2011.

A trip to the beach was in order.

Almost deserted. I didn’t feel as much of a fool for snapping a million pictures.

I almost never take my camera out in public. Me and my camera like to be and work alone.

It was unbearably humid and hot yesterday. I could barely breathe. The sun was so bright. You could literally feel the hot rays protruding onto your skin.

But the water was freezing. Like ice. Too cold for me. And Branden.

It is never too cold for Tyler and Nathan. Not ever.

Sun rays, birds, ocean, brothers, sand. Perfect. Love how this pic turned out.

Classic Nathan face.

I laid out on my old pink blanket, designated as our official beach blanket. I tanned. It was so hot, I was sweating, just laying there with my eyes closed.

I am so introverted. I really could go a whole day without talking to anybody. I hope people don’t think I’m impolite, or worse, rude because I don’t talk much. I just keep my thoughts to myself, and prefer it that way. I also like to think about things before I say them. I’m like my dad, that way. Very analytical.

My friends talk non stop. Constantly chattering about…nothing. Just words to cover up the silence that they declare is  awkward. I, however, love the silence. I crave the sweet, peaceful silence. And when I do, out of the blue, have a story to share with my friends, I always somehow get interrupted, or my story isn’t appreciated like it is when someone else has a story. When there’s a lot going on, lots of people, lots of confusion, lots of words, I hate it. I really hate it.

Now you think I never talk, which is not true. I love talking, to my friends and family. I love meeting new people. I really do.

I’m shy. Very shy, at first. But once I’m comfortable with you, like with my best friends, I love talking. But I’m much better at listening. Loads better. And you’re better at talking, so we both win.

Don’t ya love it when I get a little deep on here. Thoughts, feelings, glad I have this space to let them out.

I’m also glad Picnik is free.

Very glad.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2011 7:05 pm

    Lovely post. What I wouldn’t give to ship out to the beach for a week just the sounds, smell and feeling of sand in between your toes. I love what you wrote about yourself, very beautiful. Also have you ever used Picasa? I love picasa for basic edit’s like a few light adjustments and such, and like picnik it is free also.

  2. April 27, 2011 10:33 pm

    Wow those pictures are beautiful! What a gorgeous beach and I’m the same way in my personality. I can spend the whole day to myself and be in bliss. It might seem weird to most ppl but it’s just so peaceful 🙂

  3. April 29, 2011 9:27 am

    Looks like a great Spring Brake 😀 FL beaches are the bomb aren’t they 🙂

  4. The Teenage Taste permalink
    April 30, 2011 11:11 am

    This was a great post, Kayla! I am also very introverted. I’ve never been the kind of girl who “needs” to go out every single day and actually enjoy being alone and reading, blogging, baking and relaxing. When I was little my teachers would always describe my personality as “cautiously observant” while she would describe other kids as “ranbunctious and loud.” Most of my friends are also talkers and say silence is awkward. It’s not, but I never say that out loud. 😛

Leave a Reply

